Asia-Pacific Association
‚Äčof Chemical Ecologists

This block contains code to dead links This block will not be visible on the live site.




Student Competition Awards





Takuya Uehara


APACE Leadership Award

  • Takuya Nirazawa (Japan, GOLDEN PROBE Award)

Kenji Mori

2017 APACE Excellence in Leadership Award   The recipient of this year's APACE Leadership Award is Dr. Prof. Junwei Jerry Zhu from USDA-ARS, USA. Dr. Zhu has been one of founding members of APACE. He is also an eminent researcher in the field of insect chemical ecology. After becoming the 9th President of APACE, Dr. Zhu has significantly  contribute to the re-organization of APACE, and establish the non-profit status of APACE in the US. He has also  initiated the APACE Young Scientist Award program, and APACE Award Foundation.


  • Takuma Iwamatsu (Japan)
  • Shin Tejima (Japan)
  • Mei Yamaguchi (Japan)
  • Wanwan Wang (China)
  • Sachiyo Nailo (Japan)

Jiawei Du

  • Jan E. Bello (USA)
  • Dominic Clarke (UK)
  • Guillaume Coulier (France)
  • Rebecca Neumann (Australia)
  • Daniela Schneider (Germany)
  • Shin Tejima (Japan)


  • Sterling International, Inc. (USA)
  • Pherobio Technology Co., Ltd. (China)
  • Chemtica Intercional Inc. S.A. (Costa Rica)
  • Apex Bait Technologies, Inc. (USA)

Keng-Hong Tan

  • Jing Lv (China)
  • Hiroaki Abe (Japan)

APACE Young Scientist Awards

  • Kozue Kurashima (Japan)
  • Takuya Uehara (Japan)
  • Tetsuga Yoshida (Japan)
  • Hsiang-Wei Huang (Taiwan, China)
  • Mao Ye (China)
  • Takashi Eguchi (Japan)
  • Andrew Gherlanda (Australia)
  • Wataru Hojo (Japan)
  • Suyog Kuwar (Germany)
  • Umar Lubanga (Australia)
  • Shinichiro Murakami (Japan)

Kai Lu

Brief Introduction of 2017 APACE Lifetime Achievement Awardee   The recipients of this year's APACE Lifetime Achievement Awards are Prof. Keng-Hong Tan from Malaysia and Prof. Ritsuo Nishida from Japan. Both of them are no strangers to APACE community, since they both have been founding members of our society. They are also eminent researchers in the field of insect chemical ecology. As team members, Prof. Tan (Fruit fly specialist) and Prof. Nishida (chemist) are renowned for their work in elucidating the century-old enigmatic question on why the male oriental fruit fly is so highly attracted to methyl eugenol. The oriental fruit fly is one of the world's most destructive fruit pest and control of that species has involved the use of methyl eugenol that is a plant secondary compound found in over 480 species of plants including rare and endangered Bulbophyllum orchids. Using behavioral and chemical analyses, both of them have also proven that certain male tephritid flies such as the oriental fruit flies are also pollinators of certain Bulbophyllum orchids. Prof. Nishida also provided an outstanding service to chemical ecology discipline across both Societies (APACE and ISCE), since he served as the past APACE President and ISCE Councilor. 

Both of them will present lectures about their research at the APACE/ISCE Joint Meeting in August, 2017, and receive the APACE Lifetime Achievement Award Medals to recognize their significant contribution to APACE and chemical ecology field.

APACE Lifetime Achievement Awards


Kyung Saeng Boo

Ritsuo Nishida

2017 APACE Young Scientist Awardee   Dr. Kai Lu from Fujian A&F University, China and Dr. Takuya Uehara, Japan are selected among many quality applicants to receive the first APACE Young Scientist Award, due to their significant achievements in the field of chemical ecology.




  • Qun Liu (China)
  • Yihan Xia (Sweden)
  • Jiamei Zeng (China)
  • Po-An Lin (USA)
  • Guangheng Zhu (China)

Junwei Jerry Zhu

Student Conference Presentation Awards

Industry Support Awards

Student Travel Awards

  • Po-An Lin (USA, Oral Presentation Award)
  • Shinnosuke Mori (Japan, Poster Presentation Award)
  • Ji-Fan Hsieh (Australia,Poster Presentation Award )
  • Toshikatsu Haruma (Japan, Poster Presentation Award)
  • Naoki Ube (Japan, Poster Presentation Award)
  • Dilani Hettiarachchi (New Zealand, Poster Presentation Award)
  • Daiki Okuhara (Japan, Poster Presentation Award)